Reminiscing…

Isn’t the summer all about reminiscing? I remember last summer, I had just applied to my placement at an orphanage in Romania. I was going to be away for 2 whole months, without my friends and family. I remember how I felt at the time: super-nervous and afraid. A little bit anxious, too. I had never travelled alone before and it made me sick to even be thinking about doing it again. The weeks leading up to my departure date, was excruciating to say the least. I was so mad at myself for even going. I just thought “I will never survive” and “I will probably be all by myself down there, so PREPARE YOURSELF!!” God, I was a nervous wreck. But when I look back, I think I was just afraid of doing something alone for the first time. I think choosing to go to Romania and volunteer was my first ever decision that I made myself, without any input from anyone. And I’m so happy I listened to my heart and followed a dream that I’d had for a very long time…

While in Romania, I met so many incredible people that I still think about until this day. Volunteers from USA, Australia, Germany, Denmark etc. It was so amazing to get to know them and form a friendship with everyone! Even though I’m no longer in touch with them, I still care about them and I hope they’re very happy. Living in Romania was sort of like living in a bubble. Even though each of our volunteers had our worries and struggles, we had a lot of fun together. We went out every weekend, we went to cafes and activities and we just had a carefree time! Sort of like summer camp! So when I came back home, it was like reality hit me again and it was back to normal. I would love to go back to Romania and meet the volunteers I became friends with, but who knows when that will be. Maybe in the nearest future? Who knows… Only time will tell!

I am so glad I went to Romania, because if I didn’t, I probably wouldn’t find the strength within me to travel to USA all by myself in a week and go on a new adventure. So thank you Romania, and thank you to myself, for listening to my own heart and following my destiny!

About Christina

This blog is written by a 20 year old girl from Norway. I mainly use this blog to reflect on things that are happening in my life, but I also publish things like quotes I find inspiring, music, books and other things I adore. View all posts by Christina

Leave a Reply

