September.

It’s here and I can’t believe it! It’s September! :O I’m leaving on Thursday and it feels so surreal. I’m actually surprisingly calm, but I know that this will most likely change soon. I can’t wait to travel to Romania and work at the orphanage I’m going to work at. I once read a short story in my English class in second year of high school, called The Volunteer, which was about an American woman called Carrie, who travelled with her husband to India. Her husband went there for his job, so Carrie decided that she would work at an orphanage to keep herself occupy. She had the most horrible time and the language barrier was clearly a big problem for her. At the end of the short story, she changed her attitude towards the children and the orphanage, when realizing that even though the children  made a huge mess, the love the children had for each other and for Carrie, was more than enough for her. I thought it was a very sweet story with a great message, but it also made me realize how tough it can be to work at an orphanage, especially when you can’t speak their language… But I know that I will learn a lot while I’m there and I will do something good for other people… And that’s all that matters at the end of the day.

Christina

About Christina

This blog is written by a 20 year old girl from Norway. I mainly use this blog to reflect on things that are happening in my life, but I also publish things like quotes I find inspiring, music, books and other things I adore. View all posts by Christina

Leave a Reply

