I remember it all too well.

I remember the first day of high school like it was yesterday. Since most of my friends weren’t going to the school I was going to, I felt a bit lost. Luckily, one of my friends from middle school was going to attend the same school as myself, only she was going in another class. So, her father drove us to our high school the first day. The drive was 30 MINUTES and I was dying. I remember my friend and I were having so many panic attacks and we were holding each others hands the entire way. At one point, we actually considered turning the car and drive back home, but her father kept on saying: Just relax, this will be fine. Hah, he was so wrong! When we arrived at the school, we were standing outside the front door and I saw all the seniors walking out of the school and I just thought, Wow, that’s going to be me someday. I remember walking into the building for the first time and everything was so new. I saw my friend from middle school greeting us (she was going in the same class as myself) so it felt good to not be alone. She had another friend with her and she was so nice! We became friends instantly and I’m very glad we clicked so easily, because I consider her one of my best friends from this day on. After signing in to our class, we went to our classroom and I was shaking. My teacher was greeting us and she was very, very nice and welcoming. And then my teacher forced us to stand up and shake hands with EVERYONE and I remember I was so mortified. Haha, I don’t know. It felt very embarrassing. And then we got some information and papers we had to (the usuals). And that was basically it. What I do remember so well about it, is the fact that it was the beginning of something bad. I just had this feeling inside of my stomach that wouldn’t go away. Even when I got back home, I was miserable. And it turned out I would be feeling miserable every single day for the next year and a half.

What you should remember when you are starting high school is to be very open minded. Don’t get your hopes up too high. It’s great to have hopes and dreams, but don’t forget that it might not turn out the way you had imagined it to be.

About Christina

This blog is written by a 20 year old girl from Norway. I mainly use this blog to reflect on things that are happening in my life, but I also publish things like quotes I find inspiring, music, books and other things I adore. View all posts by Christina

Leave a Reply

